Tanzania Journal for Population studies and Development

Tanzania Journal of Population Studies and Development (TJPSD) is a journal which is published twice a year. It is a multi-disciplinary journal that pursue to address issues related to population, development and social sciences matters. It targets to publish and advocates scholarly articles in the field of Fertility, mortality, migration, health, population-environment nexus, diseases,  disasters, urbanization, rural-urban linkages, policies and related fields of social sciences. The Journal motivates up-to-date empirical papers in terms of theoretical and methodological research as well as analytical review articles focusing on sustainable human development at local and international levels. Our main objective is to create a podium for scholars of various levels of academia from Tanzania and the global research community at large, to explore, critically analyze and share the scholarly writings and knowledge. For the interested scholars, articles should be sent to dtu@ucc.ac,tz  together with a brief profile of the author(s). All articles submitted for publication are blindly peer-reviewed. Apart from regular issues, the journal accepts publishing special issues related to the mentioned topics based on working group researches and conferences. Its current Chief Editor is Dr. Herbert Hambati from the University of Dar es Salaam. The Journal has 8 editorial board members. All are Senior Scholars (5 are Professor, 3 are senior lectures) of which 3 are from Tanzania and 5 are from outside Tanzania and Africa. The advisory board has 8 members and all are Senior scholars (5 Professors) of which 3 are from outside Tanzania and Africa, the rest are from Tanzania. The Journal has International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) for print and electronic publications i.e. ISSN 0856-0227. The Journal is released both in print and online via:  https://tjpsd.udsm.ac.tz/index.php/tjpsd



Chief Editor

Dr. Herbert Hambati, University of Dar es Salaam


Associate Chief Editor

Prof. M.C.Y. Mbago University of Dar es Salaam

Dr. Amina Msengwa, University of Dar es Salaam


Editorial Board

1. Prof. E.H.O. Ayiemba, University of Nairobi

2. Prof. Maia Green, University of Manchester

3. Prof. Blair Rutherfold, Carleton University

4. Prof. J.P. Ntozi, Makerere University  

5. Prof. Godius Kahyarara, University of Dar es Salaam

6. Dr. H.B. Pratap, University of Dar es Salaam

7. Dr. Cosmas Sokoni, University of Dar es Salaam

8. Dr. Makarius C.S.Lalika, Sokoine University of Agriculture

9. Dr. Ndoloi, D. B., University of Dar es Salaam


Advisory Board

1. Prof. Sam Maghimbi, University of Dar es Salaam

2. Prof. William Rugumamu, University of Dar es Salaam

3. Prof. Francis Koti, Middle Tennessee State University

4. Prof. Shadrack Mwakalila, Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial Academy

5. Prof. Sarah L. Smiley, Kent State University

6. Prof. Milline Mbonile, University of Dar es Salaam

7. Dr. Rasul Ahmed, University of Dar es Salaam

8. Dr. Fredrick Okaka, Moi University

9. Dr. Lusiru Sifuni, Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial Academy