Tanzania Economic Review

Tanzanian Economic Review (TER) is a biannual journal of the Department of Economics, which is a part of the College of Social Sciences (COSS) of the University of Dar es Salaam. TER aims to promote greater understanding of socio-economic factors and processes that influence and shape transformation of developing countries. The Journal is not limited to the Tanzanian Economy, it covers all aspects of Economics and Economic Transformation in developing countries and beyond.

The journal is registered both print and online with the following numbers ISSN (p) 0856-3373 (print) and ISSN L (e) 2507-7740 (electronic/online),respectively.

TER is normally published as Vol.1 and Vol. 2 and the issues are produced in July and December of every year, respectively.

Journal Indexing: TER is currently indexed in EBSCO, RePEc, EcoPapers and IDEAS.

 

Website: http://ter.udsm.ac.tz/


Tanzania Economic Review [TER]

CHIEF EDITOR

Dr. Jehovaness Aikaeli                        -              Department of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam

 

MANAGING EDITOR

Dr. Remidius Ruhinduka                     -              Department of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam

 

DEPUTY MANAGING EDITOR

Dr. Onesmo Selejio                          -              Department of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam

 

EDITORIAL BOARD

The Editorial Board is composed of both local and international members. The Board is reviewed time and again to bring in new members and replace some members who have retired or have requested to be removed from the Board. The current Editorial Board is as follows:

 

No

Name

Affiliation

Contact

1

Prof. Humphrey Moshi

Department of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam

hpmoshi@gmail.com

2

Prof. Tomson Ogwang

Department of Economics, Brock University, Canada

togwang@brocku.ca

3

Prof. Aloysius Ajab Amin

Clayton State University/Institute for Development Solutions, Inc., USA

AloysiusAmin@clayton.edu

4

Dr. Robert Mhamba

College of Agricultural Sciences and Fisheries Technology (CoAF), University of Dar es Salaam

robertmhamba@gmail.com

5

Dr. John Mduma

Department of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam

nashmduma@gmail.com

6

Prof. Motoki Takahashi

Graduate School, Kobe University, Japan

tmotoki@kobe-u.ac.jp

7

Prof. David Ajakaiye

African Centre for Shared Development Capacity

Ajakaiye_olu@yahoo.com

8

Prof. Oluyele Akinkube

Rhodes University, South Africa

oluyelea@yahoo.com

9

Prof. Chris Adam

Oxford University

Christopher.adam@economics.ox.ac.uk

10

Prof. Edwin Muchapondwa

School of Economics, University of Cape Town

Edwin.muchapondwa@uct.ac.tz

11

Prof. Elizabeth Robinson

University of Reading, UK

e.j_robinson@readings.ac.uk

12

Prof. Andrew Temu

Sokoine University of Agriculture

atemu@suanet.ac.tz

Y_temu@yahoo.com

14

Prof.GermanoMwabu

School of Economics, University of Nairobi

gmwabu@gmail.com

mwabu@gmail.com

15

Dr. Abbi Kedir

Department of Economics, Leicester University

Ak493@leicester.ac.uk

16

Prof. Longinus Rutasitara

Department of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam

Rut6ra@gmail.com

17

Prof.GodiusKahyarara

Director General, National Social Security Fund, Tanzania

xxgodkxx@gmail.com

18

Prof. Amal N. Elbeshbishi

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

Aelbeshbishi@uneca.org



ADVISORY BOARD

The Advisory Board contains local and international members. The Board is also reviewed time to time in order to bring in new members and replace some members who have retired or have requested to be removed from the Advisory Board. The current Advisory Board of TER is as follows:

Prof. Benno Ndulu

MwalimuNyerere Professor Chair in Development, University of Dar es Salaam

bjndulu@outlook.com

 

Prof. Finn Tarp

Department of Economics, University of Copenhagen

firnn.tarp@econ.ku.dk

 

Prof. Festus Egwaikhide

Department of Economics, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

fegwas@yahoo.com

 

Prof. RazackLokina

Department of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam

razack_lokina@yahoo.co.uk

 

Prof. Bruno Yawe

School of Economics, Makerere University, Uganda

byawe@yahoo.com

 

Prof. Goodluck Charles

University of Dar es Salaam Business School

goodluckaikael@yahoo.com

 

Dr. Tom Kimani

Training Manager, African Economic Research Consortium, Nairobi - Kenya

tom.kimani@aercafrica.org

 

Prof. Tendai Gwatidzo

School of Economics and Finance, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa

tendai.gwatidzo@wits.ac.za

 

Dr. Aloyce Hepelwa

Department Agricultural Economics and Business, University of Dar es Salaam

hepelwa@yahoo.com

 

 


PRINT ISSN 0856 3373

ONLINE ISSN 2507-7740

 

SUBSCRIPTIONS

Annual Subscriptions:                   Tanzania                             Outside Tanzania

                Two issues:        Price:    TZS 24,000                           Price inclusive of postage: US$ 120

                                                Postage: TZS 3,000

                Single issue:      Price:    TZS 12,000                           Price inclusive of postage: US$ 60

                                                Postage: TZS 3,000

All payments and correspondence should be made to / through:

The Chief Editor

Tanzania Economics Review

P.O. Box 35045

Dar es Salaam-TANZANIA

Tel. (255-22) 2410252; Fax (255-22) 2410212

E-mail: doe@udsm.ac.tz


Vol 9, No 2 (2019): TER

Table of Contents

Articles

Robert Nabende, Ibrahim Mukisa, Edward Bbaale
PDF
Magashi Joseph, Aloyce S. Hepelwa
PDF
Henry Chalu
PDF
Severine S. A. Kessy
PDF
Mohammed Nuhu, Monica Sebastian Kauky
PDF
Damiano Kulundu Manda, Germano Mwabu
PDF