Editorial Policies

Focus and Scope

The Tanzania Journal of Science (Tanz. J. Sci.), formerly known asUniversity Science Journal”. was established in 1975 as a forum for communication and co-ordination between and among scientists and allied professionals. It is also intended as a medium for dissemination of scientific knowledge among scientists and the public at large to promote the advancement of pure and applied sciences.

Tanzania Journal of Science (TJS), is a professional, peer reviewed journal, published in English and it is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in academic research. Its mission is to provide an interdisciplinary coverage in a wide range of topics of current concern in academicians' research in natural and applied sciences. TJS is interested in receiving well-written and timely papers from individuals for possible publication. The focus of the publication is original completed research that has application to academicians, researchers, policymakers, administrators, and teachers within the broad areas of academic research. Tanzania Journal of Science would welcome manuscripts on: Biological Sciences (e.g.  Botany, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, and Zoology), Physical Sciences (e.g. Chemistry,  Physics and Earth sciences), Mathematics and Computational sciences,  Environmental Science,  and other natural and applied sciences.


Section Policies


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Peer Review Process

This journal operates a blind review process. Authors are required to provide full contact details (including institutions, email addresses and telephone numbers) of four (4) potential reviewers. At least two of the suggested reviewers should not be from the same country as the author. Each manuscript is initially evaluated by the Chief Editor and subject editor for checking suitability of the content for the journal. The paper deemed suitable is then sent to at least two expert reviewers (typically two to six reviewers) to assess the scientific quality of the paper. That paper judged by the editors to be of insufficient scientific interest or generally unsuitable is rejected promptly without formal review. The revised manuscripts and author(s)’ responses to the reviewers’ comments are re-evaluated by the reviewers or subject editors and Chief Editor. The Chief Editor is responsible for the final decision concerning acceptance or rejection of papers.


Publication Frequency

Quarterly; Four (4) regular issues per year from 2021 in February/March, May/June, August/September and November/December. In addition, the journal can publish special issues.


Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.


Editorial Board

Chief Editor:

Prof. John Andrew Marco Mahugija,

College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS), University of Dar es Salaam P. O. Box 35065 Dar es Salaam – Tanzania; Telephone/ Fax:  +255 22 2410129 E-mail address: tjs@udsm.ac.tz

Technical Editor:

Dr. Clarence A. Mgina,

Chemistry Department, College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS), University of Dar es Salaam, P. O. Box 35061 Dar es Salaam Email address: cmgina@yahoo.com

-Internal Editors

  1. Prof. Allen R. Mushi, Mathematics, Mzumbe University, Morogoro, Tanzania; E-mail: allenmushi66@gmail.com
  2. Dr. Egbert Mujuni, Department of Mathematics, E-mail: egbertmujuni2016@gmail.com; emujuni@udsm.ac.tz; egbertmujuni@yahoo.com; emujuni@hotmail.com
  3. Dr. Samora Macrice Andrew, Department of Botany, University of Dar es Salaam, E-mail: smacrice@yahoo.com
  4. Dr. Paul T.S. Limbu, Department of Physics, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, E-mail: paul.limbu@ymail.com
  5. Dr. Joseph Y. N. Philip, Chemistry Department, University of  Dar es Salaam, Tanzania; E-mail: josephyoeza68@gmail.com;  jynphilip@udsm.ac.tz
  6. Dr. Jasson R.M. John, Department of Zoology and Wildlife Conservation, University of Dar es Salaam, E-mail: wildornithology@udsm.ac.tz
  7. Dr. Charles Kasanzu, School of Mines and Geosciences, University of Dar es Salaam, E-mail: kcharls16@yahoo.com; kcharls@yahoo.com
  8. Dr. Samwel Mchele Limbu, School of Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Technology, University of Dar es Salaam, Email:mchelelimbu@yahoo.com; limbumchele@gmail.com
  9. Dr. Nyatwere D. Mganga, Botany, School of Biological Sciences, University of Dodoma, Tanzania; E-mail: nyatwere2@yahoo.com
  10. Dr. Lwitiko P. Mwakyusa, Department of Physics, University of Dar es Salaam, E-mail: lpholds37@gmail.com

-External Editors

  1. Prof. Mateusz Barczewski, Polymers Processing, Rheology, Nanocomposites & Biocomposites, Poznan University of Technology, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Institute of Materials Technology, Poland; E-mail: mateusz.barczewski@put.poznan.pl
  2. Prof. Godfred Darko, Department of Chemistry, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana;  E-mail: gdarko.sci@knust.edu.gh; godfreddarko@yahoo.com
  3. Prof. Mohammad Shoeb, Department of Chemistry, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh, E-mail: shoeb71@yahoo.com; shoeb@du.ac.bd
  4. Prof. Francis Wanjala Nyongesa, Department of Physics, University of Nairobi, Kenya, E-mail:  fnyongesa@uonbi.ac.ke
  5. Prof. Faustin P.T. Manfo, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Science, University of Buea, Cameroon; Mobile: +237 675546276; E-mail: faustinpascal@yahoo.fr
  6. Dr. Andrew Nyerere Kimang’a, Department of Medical Microbiology, College of Health Sciences, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology Nairobi-Kenya; Email: knyerere@jkuat.ac.ke; kinyerere@yahoo.com
  7. Dr. Sylvester Hatwaambo, Department of Physics, University of Zambia, Zambia; E-mail: shatwamb@gmail.com; shatwaambo@unza.zm
  8. Dr. Juliah Wangari Muriuki, Geology & Mining Engineering, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya.  Email: jwangari@jkuat.ac.ke


International Advisory Board

  1. Prof. Lawrence Ikechukwu Ezemonye, Ecotoxicology and Environmental Forensics, Vice Chancellor of Igbinedion University Okada, Edo State-Nigeria and former Deputy Vice Chancellor-Administration at the University of Benin, Nigeria; E-mail: ezemslaw@uniben.edu
  2. Prof. Wageh Sobhy Darwish, Food Safety and Technology, Food Control Department, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Zagazig University, Egypt &  Department of Health Sciences and Technology, Faculty of Health Sciences, Hokkaido University, Japan; E-mail: wagehdarwish@zu.edu.eg
  3. Dr. John Wasswa, Physical Chemistry/ Environmental Science, Head of Chemistry Department, Makerere University, Kampala-Uganda; E-mail: jnwasswa@chemistry.mak.ac.ug
  4. Prof. Fredrick Jones Muyodi, Entomology and Fisheries Sciences, Department of Zoology, School of BioSciences, College of Natural Sciences, Makerere University, Kampala-Uganda; E-mail: fmuyodi@cns.mak.ac.ug
  5. Prof. Pamhidzai Dzomba, Department of Chemistry, Bindura University of Science Education, Zimbabwe, Mobile: +263773474525, E-mail: pdzomba@gmail.com; pdzomba@buse.ac.zw

Editorial office, College of Natural and Applied Sciences University of Dar es Salaam P.O. Box 35065, Dar es Salaam TANZANIA Telephone: 255 22 2410129 Fax: 255 22 2410129 E-mail: tjs@udsm.ac.tz

Websites: https://tjs.udsm.ac.tz/index.php/tjs        https://www.ajol.info/index.php/tjs            https://www.conas.udsm.ac.tz/



This journal is indexed in the following international databases: African Journals OnLine (AJOL); CAB International or CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International, UK); CAB Direct; CAB Abstracts; CAB Global Health; Journals for Free (J4F), Crossref; EBSCO Publishing